top of page

2250 pressed.

Soul Jazz Records’ new 18th anniversary one-off limited-edition heavyweight special-edition red and cyan-coloured vinyl pressing) exclusively for Record Store Day 2024 of their long out of print classic release Studio One Rude Boy. This album is fully remastered and relicensed for RSD 24!

From the early days of Bob Marley and The Wailers (whose striking sharp-suited Rude Boy style appears on the front cover) through to the classic 1970s Jamaican films The Harder They Come and Rockers, Rude Boys have been synonymous with Jamaican Reggae culture.

This Jamaican Rude Boy anti-establishment attitude and stylish attire was later adopted by bands such as The Clash (in the film Rude Boy) as well as The Specials, Madness, Selector and others in the Two-Tone era that swept across the UK at the end of the 1970s.

The album features classic tracks from Studio One featuring Jamaica’s finest singers and groups such as The Wailers, John Holt, the Wailing Souls and Dennis Brown alongside super-rare hard-to-find tracks from artists such as Mr Foundation, Dudley Sibley and Jim Brown.

Driving Ska and Rocksteady rhythms, classic singers, killer horn lines, great Rude Boy themed-songs, all recorded under Clement ‘Sir Coxsone’ Dodd’s supervision at the legendary Studio One.

With musical backing comes from the legendary in-house bands – The Skatalites, The Sound Dimension, Soul Vendors and Soul Defenders – this is rightly one of the most in-demand Studio One releases that Soul Jazz Records have ever released.


A1. Jackie Opel – You're Too Bad

A2. Johnny Osbourne – Murderer

A3. John Holt – Hooligan

A4. Keith McCarthy – Everybody Rude Now

B1. Owen Gray – Ballistic Affair

B2. Roy Richards – Get Smart

B3. Dillinger – Stop The War

B4. Jim Brown – Love In The Dance

C1. Desmond Baker And The Clarendonians – Rude Boy Gone A Jail

C2. The Wailers – Good Good Rudie

C3. Dennis Brown – Make It Easy On Yourself

C4. Wailing Souls – Don't Fight It

C5. Dub Specialist – Peace Theme

D1. Mr Foundation – See Them A Come

D2. Dudley Sibley – Run Boy Run

D3. Dennis Brown – Johnny Too Bad

D4. Bob Andy – Crime Don't Pay

D5. Soul Brothers – Mr Kiss A Bang Bang

Soul Jazz Records Presents : Studio One Rude Boy Vinyl Records

SKU: 5026328701486
Out of Stock
    • Facebook Social Icon
    • Instagram Social Icon
    • Twitter Social Icon
    • YouTube Social  Icon
    bottom of page